Skip to content

December 19, 2012

Samsung Ativ S

by TGN
Samsung Ativ S

Samsung Ativ S

I recently got a Lumia 920 and found it to be one of the best Windows Phone devices I have used. The only complaint I had was the lack of expandable memory, which is why I preordered the Samsung Ativ S.

Samsung Ativ S was the 1st Windows 8 device announced and launched on the 14th of December 2012 in the UK. Today it finally arrived at my door step. At first glance you’d think the phone is made of aluminum, it’s brushed and coated plastic which makes it look that way, and it does look good.

Main Features:

  • Dual-core, 1.5GHz Qualcomm processor
  • 4.8-inch super AMOLED display
  • 16GB or 32GB of internal storage
  • 8 megapixel camera
  • 1080p video recording at 30fps
  • 8.7mm thick
  • 135g weight
  • Windows Phone 8
  • 2300mAh battery  For complete details visit gsmarena.

Design:

Very similar to the Galaxy S3, Samsung has stayed in their comfort zone. The phone is almost the same size as the S3 measuring at 137.2 x 70.5 x 8.7 mm (5.40 x 2.78 x 0.34 in) but it is the brushed aluminum look which makes this phone really stand out.  The button layout is pratical. Down the right hand side are the power and camera buttons, while on the left is the volume control. Easy to operate with defined action.

Performance/Hardware:

With a Snapdragon S4 Plus chip with dual cores clocked at 1.5 GHz with a 1GB Ram makes this a powerful device. It comes in 16/32GB with an expansion slot(Up to 64GB). As always I try and open up as many apps and run them and there was no performance issues AT ALL. The Adreno 225 GPU handles the visual elements of the operating system and user interface and does a great job at it. NFC, GPS, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth are all here just as expected.

Display:

A Super AMOLED display with a resolution of 720 x 1280 pixels, combined with a 4.8” screen makes for a smooth 306 pixels per inch. In reality I am pretty happy with the colors although viewing it in bright sunlight was just a slight issue.

Memory:

This is the main reason for me switching to the Ativ S. It has an on board 16GB memory(Appox 12GB usable) and an expansion card slot(Up to 64 GB) giving it a total memory of 80GB of storage, enough for most storage junkies.

Camera:

8 MP, 3264×2448 pixels, autofocus with an LED flash with a secondary 1.9 MP front facing camera. Video is 1080p@30 fps as per the industry norm for all high end phone. I especially like the anti shaking feature which really does make a difference. As for the picture quality it didnt blow me away as the Lumia 920 did but still it was good enough. Video on the other hand was pretty detailed.

Overall:

The ATIVS is an excellent handset.In terms of size it is the biggest Windows Phone 8 handset, of course with a 4.8” screen it would be, but windows 8 looks fantastic on this large display.Its a great phone and Im loving it. If memory was no issue Id stick with the Lumia 920 for its camera and display but if its memory you want then this is the obvious choice.

Worth Mentioning:

In settings-System there is the option of call blocking. This was for me one of the biggest drawback of windows devices. To the best of my knowledge this might just be the 1st call blocking app for windows phone 8 which comes pre built in the Ativ S.

Now the bad part.

Ever since this morning Im facing random clicks. I wont even be touching the screen and it’ll start moving. I even had a call being automatically answered. When composing a message or email gibberish words(aaabbbccc etc) will be typed without me typing them. Since the phone was just released a few days ago I havent been able to find anyone with the same issues. I have tried a hard reset with and issue still being present. It could be that Clove shipped me a defective unit or it can be a software issue, maybe I have the “One in a Million” defective handset or Fedex could have damaged it in transit…….who knows. Whatever the case, the issue is definitely there.

I have tried to capture the issue on video but it seems to just happen randomly especially when shaking the phone. I did manage to capture a few issues. Every time I exit the agenda, it reopens as you can see from the video. Agenda isnt the only thing which opens. When shaken I have random Apps opening. If it can happen to me, it can happen to anyone so I would recommend checking the handset when buying.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

